Conclusion: Should Canada have its own PCA?

Ben Jolliffe
2 min readJul 11, 2024

--

I’ve outlined my reasons for and against starting a new denomination. The reasons are not exhaustive or comprehensive, but simply are what I found most compelling about both sides.

So, what should we do?

I lean toward staying in the PCA and pushing for change.

First, why do I lean toward staying? I‘ve outlined the great benefits of remaining with the PCA. It gives supplies ministers and funding to Canadian churches, it is an encouragement and a balance to our Canadian foibles, there is deep ministry expertise in many areas. These are great reasons to stay.

But I don’t want the PCA to remain as it is. My critiques and reasons to leave still press on me. The PCA feels and acts like an American and specifically southern denomination. But it doesn’t have to be this way. The PCA could change and become more of a PCNA (North America).

What sort of change is needed?

  1. Regional Synods. A number of smarter people than me are thinking about this, but I think there is very good precedent for a system where we alternate regional synods with General Assemblies. This would ensure more regional connectedness, greater cooperation in mission and church planting and perhaps, a chance for Canada to develop a national identity as a reformed, presbyterian Church.
  2. Permanent Committees working in Canada. I would like to see top-down effort from permanent committees to help with the churches in Canada. Specifically, RUF, Geneva Benefits, PCA Foundation and MTW need specifically Canadian arms to help the Canadian Church.
  3. Greater Flexibility on General Assembly Locations. I’ve heard the arguments about why a General Assembly can’t work outside the south (unions, travel costs, willing presbyteries) and I don’t think any of these are deal breakers. Perhaps GA needs to dramatically reduce the extra activities? Most of the families who don’t live within driving distance can’t afford to come anyways. I think it would be meaningful for the Administrative Committee to work with presbyteries further afield to host a General Assembly.

Perhaps this isn’t what the PCA wants. It is possible that it is me that needs to change and not the PCA.

I’m curious as to what you think? Where do you land on the question of a Canadian PCA? I’d love to read some responses (here or Twitter or by email) on what you find compelling about leaving or staying.

--

--

Ben Jolliffe

Church planter, pastor, living in Ottawa with my wife, four kids and a bite-y cat.